Sunday, August 31, 2008

Disney: Story of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

ST-3906, 1962
Songs by L. Morey, F Churchill
Music from the soundtrack of the motion picture

This is the Magic Mirror storyteller LP, originally released in 1960. The first version was released in 1957 as the "round cover." It isn't a read-along, though the album cover does fold out to reveal a full-size storybook. I can't find it mentioned anywhere on the album or the cover, but the Golden Age of Walt Disney Records 1933-1988, a pricing guide, lists Annette Funicello as the narrator.

Even though it's a regular sized 33-1/3 LP, each side is only about 10 minutes. There are no tracks on the album, so I've divided the story to match the songs.
Side 1
  1. I'm Wishing
  2. With a Smile and a Song
  3. Whistle While You Work
  4. Heigh Ho

Side 2
  1. Bluddle -Uddle-Um-Dum
  2. A Silly Song
  3. Some Day My Prince Will Come
  4. One Song

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Big Audio Dynamite: E=MC^2

Columbia Stereo 44-05909
1986 CBS
Produced by Mick Jones

A promotional 12" for the Big Audio Dynamite LP This is Big Audio Dynamite. I liked the band, I like this music. Otherwise, I don't have much to say. Their mixes and use of samples seemed top of the art at the time and still sound fresh. I'm a big fan of the audio collage.

  1. E=MC^2 (extended remix); remixed by Bert Bevans
  2. A Party; remixed by Paul 'Groucho' Smykle

Back cover

Side A

Side B

Friday, August 29, 2008

The Watergate Comedy Hour

ST-11202, Hidden Records, 1973

A 1973 presidential parody album that's more miss than hit. There's some good talent here, too bad most of the material rearely rises above a poorly thought out improv idea. And just like the Jimmy Carter album, this was recorded in a studio with fake laughter.

Written by Jack Burns & Avery Schreiber and Ann Elder

Published by Meke Music, Inc

Featuring the Watergate seven: Jack Burns, Ann Elder, Fannie Flagg, Bob Ridgley, Jack Riley, Avery Schreiber, and Frank Welker

Produced by Monte Kay and Jack Lewis in association with Bernie Brillstein & JAB Productions, Inc.

Recorded May 8, 1973 at RCA recording studio in Hollywood. Recording engineer: Richie Scmitt. Album Design: Pacific Eye & Ear. Illustration: Drew Struzan

Side 1
  1. Special Investigation; Welker
  2. Hello UPI #1; Flagg
  3. The Break-in; Burns, Schreiber & all
  4. Ron Zeigler meets the press; Burns, Riley, Flagg, Welker
  5. The Meeting; Welker, Riley
  6. The Dick Cravett Show; Ridgely, Welker, Flagg

Side 2
  1. The Watergate Comedy Hour; Ridgely, Burns, Welker, Riley
  2. The plan; Schrieber, Burns
  3. The investigation; Riley, Flagg, Ridgely, Welker
  4. Agnew interview; Welker
  5. The reverend and the president; Riley, Welker
  6. Hello UPI #2; Flagg
  7. The president's prayer; Welker, Elder, Schreiber